My new urban fantasy world that my latest trilogy, The Hidden Hotel, takes place in contains thirteen different supernatural races, who together call themselves the enchanted races. What all are these different races? Let’s talk about it!   


First off, it took me a while to settle on what the races called themselves. I wanted them to have a vague type of community, with them all being united in keeping themselves hidden from humans (which is just about the only thing they’re united on). I had a couple ideas of what I wanted them to call themselves . . . though I can’t remember any of my other ideas. Sometimes I keep old notes or notes I use while brainstorming for fun or for reference, and sometimes I decided they’re just clutter and chuck them, like I apparently did this time. Regardless, I’m pretty happy with what I settled on with the enchanted races, a world I hope to write several trilogies in. 

As for the races themselves, I spent about a month doing world building for this new urban fantasy world, picking out what races I wanted, what abilities they had, a few facts about their culture, and how the races interact with each other. The thirteen races are a mix of familiar supernatural creatures and ones I made up. Because I like making things up (hence why I am writer, and especially why I write fantasy). So without further ado, let’s go through the thirteen different races!

  • *Beast Monger
  • *Celestial Guardian
  • *Light Phantom
  • *Shadow Phantom
  • Alchemist
  • Werewolf
  • Siren
  • Vampire
  • Sprite
  • Nymph
  • Shifter
  • Pixie
  • Sorcerer

I put stars next to the first four races, since those are the ones I made up, and I put my own twist on a lot of the familiar races, though I won’t go into that here, since I think that’s more fun to encounter within the story. Though I am planning to put together little intro videos for each of the races, just for fun, to spotlight each one. 

As for what the hero of The Hidden Hotel is, I’ll keep that to myself for now ;)